Chicken Fattah & Cream of Vegetable Soup

Standard

After my success yesterday with Lemon Cilantro Kofta, I decided to try another recipe out. I walked over to my freezer this morning and pulled out some drumsticks. Not knowing what I was going to be making for dinner, I decided to browse Ya Salam Cooking. I was looking for any recipe with Chicken. I found quiet a few because chicken is so versatile. You can make just about anything with it. After looking over the recipe for Chicken Fattah, I knew this would be something different but delicious. So here is my review of another recipe.  It was a really quick recipe. I didn’t have boneless chicken breast so I just used drumsticks by removing the bones and skin. Worked out just fine.I altered this recipe by adding a pack of frozen mixed vegetables to the rice to make a little bit healthy. I always try to sneak in some veggies where ever I can.

I also drizzled some lemon juice, honey and soy sauce on the chicken as I layered. But the ultimate touch was the yogurt and butter on top. Oh my gosh! Let me tell you…that yogurt with garlic and butter drizzled all over was outta this world!

I limit my use of butter in cooking simply to cut down on the fat and calories. Instead, I utilize olive oil which is known for many health benefits such as favorable effects on cholesterol regulation and LDL cholesterol. However from time to time, I will use butter but I’ve found a much healthier alternative to just plain old butter. In our house, we use an healthier alternative called Smart Balance. It tastes just the same and you can use to for everything from baking, cooking to spreading it on your bread.  What makes it different is that it has absolutely no hydrogenated or partially hydrogenated oils and is naturally 0g trans fat. Their buttery spreads contain a unique natural blend of polyunsaturated, monounsaturated and saturated fats designed to help improve the ratio of good HDL cholesterol to bad LDL cholesterol. Aside from butter, they offer a wide selection of products such as peanut butter, milk and sour cream.

Check it out at their website.

Anyways, back to the topic at hand. Sorry about the side rant. After I made the Chicken Fattah, I had some extra chicken broth left over so I decided to make a soup. I browsed the website again and I found the recipe for Cream of Vegetable Soup. I made that in no time as well. I left out the corn syrup since I didn’t have any, but I sure did add three cloves of garlic for an extra punch. It turned out delicious. Hubby raved about these dishes as well!

Here is what the end product looked like! By the way, I only used half a pita because with hubby and I, we wouldn’t be able to eat all of it plus the rice.

Thanks again for sharing such great recipes!

About MuslimWife23

"The Night of the Prophet's SAS birth is a magnificient, noble, blessed and holy night, a night of bliss for the believers, pure, radiant with lights, and of immeasurable price." -Ibn Kathir "You will reach a station where even accepting a little bit of dunya will be a burden on you...you will become a tool only for God acting in his service"

Leave a Reply

